How I Got Nailed This Week

Autumn of Fun : A Colorful Twist on the Basic French Manicure

My nails this week.

 

I hate French manicures. Traditional ones, that is. The ones with nude nail color and a white tip. It becomes even worse when it is done with fake nails, which most of the times have this strange squarish shape. Yesterday, however, I decided to have a little fun with my nails and not simply do my nails in a single color. Even though I love colorful nails and I enjoy trying new shades, I am not very original when it comes to nail designs. So, having a colorful French tip is a big step for me.

Revlon Pro French Manicure in 470 Peach Delicacy, Essie in 73 Cute as a Button, my faithful Sèche Vite, and Rimmel Nail Rescue Save Me base coat.

 

Because I have to learn to walk before I can run, I decided on a traditional color for the main part of my nails. To clash with it, I used a bright pink, with borders on the neon color. I first applied a base coat (Rimmel Nail Rescue) and topped it with 3 coats of peachy nail polish (Revlon in Peach Delicacy). I had to use 3 thick coats because it is very sheer. Afterwards, I applied 2 coats of Sèche Vite. I really recommend a fast drying top coat for this look, as it helps managing the numerous layers of polish. Afterwards, I applied the pink polish (Essie Cute as a Button) on the tips. I didn’t use a special brush to do it and I didn’t use special French manicure stickers either. If you want to use stickers, I would recommend waiting until the following day to make sure your main nail polish is really dry. If, like me, you just want to use your nail polish brush, make sure that you take off almost of the nail polish that comes on the brush, otherwise you will have way too much polish on your tips. I finished everything off with a coat of Sèche Vite. Et voilà!

The final result:

 

Leave a Reply

