Star of the Stick:

Revlon Lip Butters!

About a year ago, everyone, all over the internet, began talking about Revlon Lip Butters. Bloggers were getting completely crazy over them. I was soon intrigued and bought my first two balms on Ebay. This Summer, when I was in America, I bought three more. That’s how much I love them! The first I got were Berry Smoothie and Peach Parfait. This Summer, I got Candy Apple, Sweet Tart and Tutti Frutti.

My Revlon Lip Butters: 015 Tutti Frutti, 025 Peach Parfait, 035 Candy Apple, 050 Berry Smoothie, 090 Sweet Tart.

Now, not all of these Lip Butters are created equal. Some are more pigmented, some have little shimmers in them. This makes for a very different application according to the color you’ll choose. Overall, they are a hybrid between a lip stick and a lip balm. This makes for an easy application, a nice sheen, minimal awkwardness from fading and still some good pigmentation. Here are my thoughts:

015 Tutti Frutti: This was THE color of this Summer! Orange was everywhere and this lip balm/lip stick really helped me rocking the trend without looking too weird. Because, you know, orange is not an easy color to wear. I really liked this balm which sometimes doubled as a blush, thought you must be aware that the blush effect if highly temporary: it rapidly fades on my skin. This balm is less pigmented than darker colors, which sometimes led to awkward streaks when I applied it directly from the bullet. I would definitely advice to tap it on the skin either from the bullet, or with your fingers.

025 Peach Parfait: Even though this is maybe the most talked about balm of the lot, being worn by Emma Stone on the Revlon adds, and being also worn by the actress in numerous premieres or photo shoots, this is the balm that has really disappointed me. It contains little shimmers, which make my lips drier and leads to awkward fading. The shimmers remain on my lips when the color and the sheen of the balm are gone, and it gets me crazy! Overall, I really didn’t like this balm, and I never wear it anymore.

035 Candy Apple: Hello bombshell! I love this balm so so much! For those of you who would like to wear red lipstick but are afraid to look weird, this is the one product to use! It is well pigmented when applied directly on the lips, but if you prefer a subtler effect, you can pat it on with your finger. It fades well, which is very important for me, because I don’t want to touch my lips up every 10 minutes. Overall, a real winner!

050 Berry Smoothie: A smart shade for fall and winter, Berry Smoothie is a cold dark pink. It is highly pigmented, and slightly less balmy than Candy Apple or Tutti Frutti. No particular problem with this one, but it’s not my favorite either.

090 Sweet Tart: The other treasure out of the whole range! This pink color is neither too light that it makes you look like a Barbie Doll, nor too flashy that it makes you conscientious. It looks fun, yet not too crazy. The heavy pigmentation and the super comfy texture give a beautiful result. Definitely one I’d repurchase!

Swatches, with flash, of : 015 Tutti Frutti, 025 Peach Parfait, 035 Candy Apple, 050 Berry Smoothie, 090 Sweet Tart.

And so, the star of the week are… Drumroll please…

Runner-up: 090 Sweet Tart: Because it feels and look perfect and makes me feel fun.

Winner: 035 Candy Apple: Because it looks beautiful and makes me feel grown-up:

2 thoughts on “Star of the Stick:

Leave a Reply

